Book Review: Maids of Misfortune: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery

By M. Louisa Locke

Click book for description.  (Downloaded free on 2/24/13)

Has it really been almost 2 weeks since I finished my last book?  That may be a (bad) record for me!  Blame it on the time change (tired) or just too much going on, but I think I only averaged a chapter a two a night, thus the 13 days it took me to finish this book.

And don’t hold your breath, it’s not anything that blew my socks off.  I downloaded this book (for free) thinking that it had two things I enjoy; mystery and history (haha I rhymed!)  I love a good historical fiction book and mystery thrown in keeps the pages turning.  The only thing really historical about this book was the horse-drawn carriages and maybe the role of women in the late 1800’s.  It (obviously) took place in San Francisco, but I really think it could have been anywhere as I did not learn anything about that city in particular.

I don’t mean that harshly, I mention as it was not what I was expecting from the 4 star review on Amazon.  The characters were likable.  Annie is a great main character, you find yourself routing for a certain (happy) ending for her.  The mystery side of it keeps you reading and hanging on until the very end.  It centers around the death of Matthew Voss.  Authorities have deemed it suicide, but Annie and a few others suspect foul play.  At many points in the book you suspect different characters, so I enjoyed that it wasn’t one of those books where you know right from the start (or maybe you will – who knows!)  But it held my interest as a mystery.  I do not think I will pick up another book by this author though.  My one criticism, as mentioned above, is the lack of historical details.   I am far from a history buff – so I enjoy learning (relearning) history facts through stories and feeling (maybe) a little smarter when I finish!

I think I’m going to give another “historical” book a go next – we’ll see if this one fits the bill!
The Coach House

1 Comment

Filed under Chapters

One response to “Book Review: Maids of Misfortune: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery

  1. Emily

    Good to know!

Thoughts?

