What a friend we have in Jesus

Happy Sunday all! We had a beautiful service this morning at church at First Presbyterian PTC to match the glorious 72 degree weather we are having in GA today.  The perfect start to a new week (I am tempted to say end because sometimes that how Sunday feels – but I’m uplifted and hope to carry that through this coming week!).  This past week was a trying one.  Nothing terrible or life-ending, just minor frustrations (first world problems as I have heard them referred to).  But I found myself turning to the only place I know -prayer.  For patience, strength, and understanding, especially for things I cannot control.  This song “What a Friend”, sung  this AM by the beautiful Abby Akins (and ofcourse Jay too!), brought me goosebumps as the words sunk deep into my soul today.  Read the words below and see the link to the original song on YouTube (although I wish I had a recording from the AM – it was even more beautiful!)  We are so blessed to have a Savior who will listen to our sins, griefs, trials, temptations, knows us from the inside out, and LOVES us still.  That is just awesome and amazing and I pray I can keep that knowledge with me always.

May your week ahead be blessed!

What a Friend 

Kathryn Scott

What a friend we have in Jesus
All our sins and griefs to bear
What a privilege to carry
Everything to God in prayer

Oh what peace we often forfeit
Oh what needless pain we bear
All because we do not carry
Everything to God in prayer

Have we trials and temptations
Is there trouble anywhere
We should never be discouraged
Take it to the Lord in prayer

Can we find a friend so faithful
Who will all our sorrows share
Jesus knows our every weakness
Take it to the Lord in prayer

Oh what a friend we’ve found
What a friend we’ve found
What a friend we’ve found in You

Isn’t He beautiful
Isn’t He wonderful
A friend like no other to me

2 Comments

Filed under Calling

2 responses to “What a friend we have in Jesus

  1. Mom

    What a beautiful song! Amen!

Thoughts?

