Book Review: The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby
By F. Scott Fitzgerald
We own this book – click on book for description.

I’m not quite sure where to start on this review.  I don’t believe that I am actually comfortable reviewing a Great American Novel and what “The Modern Library named it the second best English language novel of the 20th century.” (Borrowed from Wikipedia description.)  I will say it took me 5-6 nights to finish – usually only reading one chapter a night.  I found it a challenge (which is good) and enjoyed reading it, but also found myself searching the internet today to find out more, as I wanted to fully understand and make sure I didn’t miss anything (which I did!)

It is widely read in high school, I don’t recall ever reading it then.  Most people have heard of it.  And many current characters are said to be based on Mr. Gatsby; i.e. Don Draper of Mad Men. (example provided by my husband!)  Introduced as Nick Carraway’s (the narrator of the book) next-door neighbor known for throwing lavish extravagant parties, Jay Gatsby is a man of mystery, the subject of countless rumors, who the reader finds themselves wanting to know more.  Throughout the book, you take the journey with Nick, just a regular Joe thrown into the mix of Gatsby’s world.  The journey to find out just who this Gatsby is as you weed through rumors, lies, and eventually him opening up to Nick.  As I discussed the book with my husband, I had mentioned that I didn’t quite understand who Nick was and why he was chosen to narrate this story.  He pointed out – that that was the point.  Nick was just a normal guy, similar to the average reader, thrown into this lucrative world.  So it was very easy for me, the reader, to relate to his point of view.  He’s so smart 🙂  The ending sent me to the internet, as mentioned before, just to clarify what exactly happened.  I can’t say it was a happy ending, but it ended how it should have.

I am glad I read it, as one of the reasons I picked it up is the upcoming movie.  I recently saw the trailer (see below) and cannot wait to see the movie – May 2013!  Leonardo DiCaprio as Gatsby and Toby Maguire as Nick.  I saw the trailer before reading the book, so I had their faces already in my head, but I think the casting seems pretty spot on!

It’s directed by Baz Luhrmann who directed a few of my favorites such as Moulin Rouge and Romeo & Juliet.  Similar to the book and Gatsby himself, the trailer leaves so much to the imagination, it draws you in and you want more!  At least I did!  I also have been fascinated with the 1920’s.   After reading a few books set in the Jazz Age (like Bright Young Things) and seeing Midnight in Paris (awesome movie!), it’s just such a glamorous, carefree time, and it is fun to be transported to such a different era!

The Great Gatsby (2013) Poster

Maybe I should have had Steven review the book, or I will direct you to thousands of amazon reviews if you want to know more, as this hasn’t been the best review of a book I’ve done.  But I wanted to document it and aren’t you excited about the movie?  As you can tell – I am!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chapters

Thoughts?

