Zatarain’s Big Game Cravebox

WIN THIS BOX!!  CLICK HERE TO SEE HOW!

It seems like all the craze these days are these subscription boxes – have you heard of them?  They are pretty cool.  They seem to come in all sorts of genres.  For Christmas I bought my sister a 3-month subscription for her and her baby from Citrus Lane.  I was able to put in her baby’s age and each month she received a box of toys, books, samples, and coupons fit for her current stage.  I’ve seen beauty products, pet products, gourmet food, and so many others.  The one I have been treating myself with is Cravebox.

I liked them because of user reviews and they offer a broad spectrum of boxes and you can get as many (or as little) as you want.  Past boxes I have recieved have included pet lovers, Cooking Light, Back to School, School Snacks, and winter spruce up.  And the latest one – the Zatarain’s Big Game Cravebox.

Do I care about the Super Bowl (cover your ears or eyes if you are a NFL fan) – no, honestly I don’t.  Maybe (truly maybe) if a hometown team were playing (Falcons couldn’t cut it this year).  But do I like throwing a themed party? YES!  So I saw this box and decided to throw a little shindig for our family for the BIG GAME!  I was even able to upsize to party size for free!  (2 of each item)

Here is a picture of everything we received in the box.  With help from the Zatarain’s website recipe finder – I narrowed our menu to the items below (thanks to Pinterest for our chalkboard pantry door where I write our weekly menus!)

IMG_2159IMG_2160

Food:

Olivia Manning’s Ultimate Jambalaya Bar – recipe was included in the box.  Although my “bar” only consisted of spicy andouille sausage, smoked sausage (mild) and shrimp.  With the little ones to feed we didn’t add a lot (really) any spice except for the sausage – so as a lover of spicy food that would be my one complaint.  But as a basic jambalaya – it was good!

photo.JPG

Red Beans and Rice Salad – since the jambalaya is hot rice, I thought a good balance would be something cold.  This one surprised me.  Not being a huge fan of red beans and rice hot and plain – I’ve got to say – this is the way to go.  The fresh red bell pepper, onions, celery, and corn add a little unexpected crunch that is great!  And just a little bit of apple cider vinegar gives it a little zest.  I served it chilled and it seemed to be a hit!

IMG_2172

Zatarain’s Creole Mustard Dip – all good parties need apps – so this uses both the mustard and creole seasoning found in my box.  It was served with chips, carrots, and celery.  Wow – that creole mustard has a bite!  Good for me and my husband that we like spicy.  Some others not so much – but the mixture of sourcream, onions, and (not even that much) of the creole mustard made this dip a spicy surprise that was excellent!  We ran out of chips because it was so popular.  Definitely got better the more you ate (and became more addicting!)  Will make this again!

Drinks:

True Lemon Iced Tea – another box item.  I personally am not a fan of iced tea – but made this for the masses.  And my masses I mean Granddad – he drank the whole pitcher – so I’ll go out on a limb and say that he liked it!

lrg_true_lemon_iced_tea_2qt

Abita Purple Haze – what better drink pairing than a beer brewed in NOLA.  Made from raspberries – I couldn’t resist!

And finally…

Hurricane’s – I tried my best to find all the ingredients – it was a little modified (all light rum and skipped the simple syrup) but good stuff!  Made virgin versions for the kiddos too!

Pat O Brien's Hurricane

Also in the box were Mardi Gras beads which were enjoyed by the kiddos!

Fun Cravebox overall – helped me throw a great themed party!

Also one more fun thing.  We signed up for the Ad Meter on USATODAY.com so we could rank all the commercials.  Fun way to stay engage and get everyone’s opinions!

3 Comments

Filed under Celebrations

3 responses to “Zatarain’s Big Game Cravebox

  1. Emily

    It was soo good! We had a great time!

  2. Mom

    My first thoughts were that I’d miss having the standard football foods for your Super Bowl get-together, but both Mark and I were pleasantly surprised with how good everything was!! I loved everything!! We both give you lots of props for creating a very clever and fun food menu for this year’s Super Bowl!!!

  3. Lesa

    Love all of this.

Thoughts?

