Grow up!

January is missions month at First Pres (maybe all over too?) with that comes lots of sermons directed at finding your mission, your purpose, living out God’s purpose for you.  Today’s topic, as preached by Pastor David, was growing up.  You are never too old to grow up, keep learning, and growing in your relationship with Christ and your faith.  He quoted a pastor (I can’t remember his name though) “If you’re not dead, you’re not done.”

Again another week where I felt the message directed towards me!  Growing up, figuring out my purpose is exactly what I have devoted this season of my life to and in turn, this blog.  Although the growing in Christ is something I plan to keep doing until my time here is complete. Each week I am inspired by speakers who come to speak about their mission or group who are devoted to doing God’s work here in GA or as far as Africa and Asia.  Not only are their missions amazing, but I’m so inspired by individuals who have heard God’s call and are acting on it!  I want to do that!

Today’s verses were Ephesians 4:14-5

Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of people in their deceitful scheming. Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will grow to become in every respect the mature body of him who is the head, that is, Christ.

Pastor David gave 2 tools for growth.  1. Trouble and 2. Temptation.  Yes we learn and grow through bible study, church, and fellowship, but its through the trials, tribulations, and temptation and how we react to them that we get to apply those teachings and training and really GROW!  Psalms 119:71 says “It was good for me to be afflicted so that I might learn your decrees.”

Everyone is tempted, we never outgrow it, and it is only a sin when you choose to fall into it.  He then gave 2 helps to get through temptation; 1. Focus your thoughts and 2. Commit to an accountability partner.

My prayer this week is to continue to seek out ways to “grow up” and find that one person I can be authentic with.  And that God will continue to speak to me and help me grow in all aspects of my life.

Special prayers this week go out to Steven’s grandmother who passed away in her sleep on January 19th.  We pray that she is safely at home with our Father, not suffering, and watching over us always.  We love you Grandma J!

Leave a comment

Filed under Calling

Thoughts?

