My dog-eared purpose

Alright God, I heard you today, loud and clear!  Maybe this isn’t exactly what you had in mind, but it is a starting place and I’ve always heard the first step is the hardest, so here we go!

It may be the New Year, it may be my youngest turning one, or it may be spending the last year of my life at home with my kids; whatever it is – I’m ready for it!  Just exactly what “it” is has yet to be determined.  I am referring to my calling or today a word that is sticking with me – my purpose.  I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a blog for a few weeks now.  At first I thought it was a bit cliché – I’m a stay-at-home mom now with some time to fill.  I have a lot of interests, some of which I receive my inspiration from other moms and blogs.  Not one BIG one that stands out just yet – but then I thought – that is what I need to do – figure out just what God is calling me to do and focus on.  I have a few inklings, and as I set up this blog and begin documenting my interests, passions, and what consumes my time, maybe some common themes will arise and I can see just how God is working in my life and where He is leading me.

This morning at church, Pastor David’s message couldn’t have been more directed to me.  Ok – I know it wasn’t to ME but I think that is the sign of a good sermon – one that I could argue with anyone that he was talking to and knew my circumstances exactly!  But it started out with asking yourself “what is my purpose?”  He quoted Rick Warren’s Purpose Driven Life (which I am thinking about re-reading as a start to finding my purpose) “You were born by His purpose and for His purpose.”  And also Matthew 22:37-39 as a starting point:

Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’”

So my prayer today is that I can open my heart fully to God and the world around me.  And through doing this I pray doors (or I’ll take windows) will be opened up or even shut to lead me into living out my purpose (once I figure out what that is) to His full glory.

Welcome, thanks for stopping by, and I hope you can take this journey with me because I know I am not meant to do it alone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Calling

Thoughts?

